Surgery Is Done

Well A went into surgery last night for his tracheostomy about 6:30pm and at 8pm we got word from his ENT that all went wonderful. We were able to see him in the PCCU very shortly after. He is on a lot of medications for sedation however he is NOT sleeping.

Right now he is currently on the ventilator (life support) but is taking some breaths on his own above the machine. They want to keep him very sedated and pretty still for another 24 hours before they even think of weaning him off the meds and the vent.

I have a lot of emotions right now but so far I feel okay with what has gone on. It was a VERY tough decision and I hope that I never ever have to make one like this ever again in my life!!!!

Here is my tough little guy….

Keep the prayers coming….we have a LONG road ahead of us. He has been a very good boy though for mommy so far on her birthday which is the best birthday present EVER!!!!

7 responses

  1. S and A-
    You are two of the toughest people I have ever “met”. This was a brave and brutal step, and I cannot begin to imagine how difficult these days are for you. My prayers are with you, and I pray that you have now finally, finally, found the answer to all of the questions that have plagued you for so very long. I hope this is a solution that will allow you to have so much less stress in the long run, and far more good days and peace.
    Happy Birthday Happy first day on a long road that should lead to all good things to A!

    Love,
    Melissa (and Ross and Riley)

    December 12, 2009 at 7:13 pm

  2. Poor little guy he looks so doped up. Glad the surgery went okay.
    We will keep our fingers crossed that the trach will solve his problems and he can home soon.
    Happy Birthday Shannon, I think next year you deserve a big present, maybe something that is not as stressful.

    December 12, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  3. Angela

    What a brave little boy. And his parents are just as brave. I’m praying you’ll all be home together soon. Happy birthday, Shannon!

    December 12, 2009 at 8:59 pm

  4. ((((HUGS))) to A and you. We’re praying for you. I’m so happy to hear the surgery went well.

    December 12, 2009 at 9:37 pm

  5. Wow I hate I haven’t been on-line much and just caught up to A’s latest news. I hope A adjusts to the trach. Braden was so little when he got his he doesn’t know any different. It was tough for us though especially at first. But you do in time get use to it and learn to be comfortable with changing it out etc… A is a tough little boy and I pray over the next few days he is comfortable and off the vent.

    December 12, 2009 at 11:55 pm

  6. Continued prayers! Happy belated Birthday, S!!

    Trisha

    December 13, 2009 at 2:06 pm

  7. Praying for all of you!

    Sonia

    December 17, 2009 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

